AHG Committees

Various committees composed of AHG members work with the AHG Board of Directors and the AHG Office to assure that our organizational mission is being met and that our plans are implemented. Feel free to reach out to us at office@americanherbalistsguild.com if you have any interest in serving on a committee.

Admissions Committee
This committee reviews applications for AHG Registered Herbalist membership. RH applicants are scored on specific criteria to asses their knowledge and experience as clincial herbalists. The committee reviews applications three times each year. 
Chair: David Winston

Community Service Award (CSA)
The Community Service Award is given once a year at the annual symposium to honor an individual, or a group, that has contributed significantly to the herbal profession, making a lasting impact through community or environmental service on a local or national level. Our committee ensures that the nomination period is announced and nominations are reviewed, a selection made and award presented.
Chair: Leslie Alexander

Education Committee
The Education Committee is responsible for advising on the development and maintenance of inclusive and up-to-date educational resources including website content, webinars, and mentorship materials. Our committee is interested in building relationships with herbal educational facilities (includes schools, farms, informal internship programs, and individual herbalists) to ensure our standards are reflective of the views of our members. The education committee is charged with reviewing, evaluating, elucidating and clarifying procedures for interested individuals to move forward with clear direction to help fulfill the requirements for becoming a Registered Herbalist.
Chair: Ashley Litecky Elenbaas

Ethics Review Committee: The Ethics Review Committee evaluates complaints regarding violations and transgressions to the AHG Code of Ethics. This committee works with the AHG office and council to investigate and resolve complaints.
Chair: Renee Davis

Governance Committee
The Governance Committee is responsible for overseeing Council development including orientation, training and evaluation of council members. This committee also oversees the election process, recruitment of new potential council members, and assures that officers are appointed annually. We maintain awareness that the Mission, Vision and Values are current and bylaws are to date. Our committee advises on development of Policy and Procedure bringing clarity to decision making process and organizational operations including best practices pertaining to doc and record retention, committee structure, fundraising, financial reporting, human resources, employee benefits and compensations and strategic vision planning.
Chair: David Harder

Symposium Planning Committee
This committee supports and advises the core individuals involved with the annual symposium planning. The committee is also primarily responsible for tasks of an academic nature such as assembling and coordinating the annual review committee for proposals, designing the annual symposium theme, and other more overarching aspects of symposium as it serves the organization.
Co-Chair: Bevin Claire, Patricia Kyritsi Howell